China Unveils Team for 2019 FIVB Women's Nations League

May 2, 2019
Editor: Sandy Zhu

China on Thursday announced a 30-player team for the 2019 FIVB women's Volleyball Nations League (VNL) with star spiker Zhu Ting as team captain.

Other stars such as Yan Ni, Yuan Xinyue, Zhang Changning and Li Yingying are also in the list.

Three young players Wang Yizhu, Sun Yan and Ni Feifan have their first call-up to the national team. During 2018-2019 season of Chinese Volleyball League (CVL), though restricted to a few games, Wang Zhuyi displayed her quality skills.

Ni Feifan boasted more opportunities to set foot on court. Her excellent performance in CVL last season allowed her to play the libero for Jiangsu team. Ni might welcome her debut as a national team player this year. Still, it depends on whether she will outshine Lin Li or Wang Mengjie during the games.

VNL is a long tournament and Chinese women's volleyball team will definitely explore different formations for the best line-up.

From August 2 to 4, Chinese women's volleyball team will fight against Turkey, Germany and the Czech Republic at FIVB Volleyball Intercontinental Olympic Qualification Tournament for a ticket to the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games. Besides, the Chinese team will also play World Cup in Japan later this year.

Following are the list of 30 Chinese women's VNL players:

Spikers: Zhu Ting (Captain), Zhang Changning, Liu Xiaotong, Li Yingying, Liu Yanhan, Duan Fang, Wu Han, Zhang Yichan, Jin Ye, Che Wenhan, Wang Yizhu

Middle blockers: Yuan Xinyu, Yang Hanyu, Hu Mingyuan, Wang Yuanyuan, Zheng Yixin, Yan Ni, Gao Yi

Opposite spikers: Gong Xiangyu, Zeng Chunlei, Du Qingqing,

Setters: Diao Linyu, Yao Di, Sun Yan, Ding Xia, Sun Haiping

Liberos: Lin Li, Wang Mengjie, Ni Feifan, Wang Weiyi

(Source: Xinhua)

Please understand that,a non-profit, information-communication website, cannot reach every writer before using articles and images. For copyright issues, please contact us by emailing: The articles published and opinions expressed on this website represent the opinions of writers and are not necessarily shared by